Philosophy of Education

My philosophy of education is that education is a life long experience and that education should be diverse and equitable. Everyone should have the right and the opportunity to an education, because education truly empowers an individual. I believe that knowledge is better shared in an environment where students feel comfortable to express their thoughts, believes and disagreements. Furthermore, I believe that students learn better when their education combines theory, experience, and practice. After learning about all of the educational theorist I decided to compare and contrast my educational philosophy with Aristotle. According to Aristotle, the state had the obligation to educate its people in order to make them virtuous. I agree with his belief; certainly if we want to live in a society where people are ethical and honest than education is an essential part in achieving this goal. In addition, Aristotle believed that “People make mistakes when judgment is not found on reason… cannot error if have knowledge of something… Know your own weakness to know the direction in which you make mistakes”. Essential Aristotle is saying that people who are knowledgable use logic in order to form their judgments and therefore support their argument or beliefs. Education certainly enlightens a person to think rationally. Lastly, I also agree with his belief that the curriculum that is taught needs to be a combination of theoretical and practical and that this method should be taught through observation. This aligns with my personal educational philosophy, I think this is an excellent way to teach because students need the opportunity to but the theories that they learn into practice. In addition I would add that students use their own experiences and apply it to theories to have a better understanding and to make it more personal. Although I agree with several of Aristotle’s beliefs I take issue with the fact that he thought women were intellectually inferior and that educational opportunities should be focused on boys. I respect that opinion but I believe and know that it is complete none sense. Everyone, both men and women should have the equal opportunity to an education.  Education should be diverse and equitable; everyone has the ability to learn, all they need is the opportunity to do so. I find it ironic that historically education has been male dominated, because of this ignorant belief that women did not posses the same intellect as men, however, now women make up the majority of students in higher education. Interesting.

.

3 responses to “Philosophy of Education

  1. Well reasoned! Great dissent with Aristotle’s misogyny. What are the moral and ethical implications of your agreement with Aristotle? Because your philosophy of education is so well reasoned which also agrees with Aristotle I’d be interested to know what ideas for addressing unmotivated students.

    Like

    • I chose Aristotle because I wanted to analyze my philosophy with someone who I didn’t completely agree with. Truthfully, I would say that my philosophy of Education is more aligned to other educational theorist; it is a combination of educational theorist such as Johann Comenius, Johann Pestalozzi, Mary Wollstonecraft, and Jane Addams. Personally I would like to think that students who are unmotivated have not found their passion, as educators, mentors, advisors, etc. I think it’s our responsibility to assist them in trying to find it; we can’t give up on those students. I don’t think Aristotle would agree with me he believed in two classes of people the ruling and the ruled; in my opinion I think Aristotle would say that those unmotivated students would be part of the ruled.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I wholeheartedly believe that people make unintentional mistakes based on limited knowledge. I feel like it happens to me every day. Aristotle aptly points out that if we are aware of our weaknesses, we can address these areas through increasing our learning. My issue with Aristotle’s reasoning is that it seems to imply that if people were more knowledgeable, they would all arrive to the same, “right/wrong” conclusion. I do not believe that knowledge can uplift us to a world of black and white decisions. Rather I think education serves to give us more grey areas of thinking.

    Like

Leave a Reply

